Has education really done me any good?

Of course it has. Well, sort of. Yeah okay, when I do eventually finish education I will be in a better position in terms of getting the job I want, but I actually think that my whole journey of education has done more bad than good. I miss the days when I was much younger and I believed that the world was an amazing place where you can be who you want to be, and do what you want to do. I genuinely thought that 99% of the world was good, and that only 1% of the world were ‘badies’. Couldn’t I have been left to believe that? No. Education had to come along and ruin what I once believed to be true,  and replace it with fear, pressure and ‘suggestions’ (I say suggestions because in so many subjects, the things we have been discussing haven’t always been proved true).

I want to go back. I don’t want to know about how messed up the world is. I don’t want to see how many people have died due to other people’s faults, and I definitely don’t want to be exposed to the constant reminder than its only going to get worse!  I would much rather remain naive to it all.

Growing up never used to scare me. I couldn’t wait to have my own house and go to loads of other countries and to pursue a career. Now I wanna run back through time to when the biggest problem I had was what plastic food I should cook in my plastic oven. But even that’s not as innocent as I thought it was, in college we have been looking at feminism, and one of the massive arguments they put across – the sexualisation of young children. The stereotypes of what gender you are is spoon fed from birth. I was always aware of things such as girls clothes being pink and boys clothes being blue, but it actually wasn’t until I started to pay attention to it that I realised its so much more than that! The products for children go hand in hand with the media that is made for them, for example retailers selling children’s toys have princess dresses, small make-up sets, things with fairy’s, toys related to cooking/cleaning. The movies for children (in particular, Disney films) all show women doing/using the same things that the toys encourage, such as Disney princesses cleaning, cooking, and being passive. Boys have loads of toys to do with fighting, action and working, such as toy guns, trains, police/cowboy sets. And in the movies for boys, the men are always presented as heroes, as hardworking, as ready to fight. No wonder we live in a society where there is still inequality.

Do the things we need in life have to get any more expensive? How are young people actually supposed to make a life for themselves anymore? I’m terrified for when the time comes when I am buying a property. I’m not going to be able to have a house anywhere near as nice as my parents first house. And mine will probably cost twice as much. I still can’t even drive yet, and I’m constantly thinking whether there’s any point! Car insurance is ridiculous. How can it be nearly £3000 for me, and less than £100 for my mum, for the year, even if I bought a car that should technically be less on insurance. I partially understand that many young people on the road are irresponsible, however I think that they should re-think how they do insurance. Instead of making all young people’s insurance so expensive, they should make it normal in comparison to insurance for other ages. If a young person were to have an accident (whether it was because they were being irresponsible or not), the insurance should then be increased accordingly. Not only would this make it fairer for young people who are responsible, which I believe is the majority, but it would also encourage those who might not normally be as responsible to drive more carefully, otherwise they will have to pay more!

Anyway, I’m going to stop now. This is starting to turn into a rant instead!

Leave a Reply

